Gibson wins primary, becomes District One state senator

By Frank Mahoney |
Graphic by Victoria Van Arnam

On Sept. 20, a primary was held in St. Johns County to decide which candidate will represent the Democratic Party in the Oct. 18 special election in District One. The winner was Representative Audrey Gibson. Gibson was suppose to face right in candidate Andrea Austin in this election, but Austin withdrew from the election.

The special election was held to fill the vacancy left by Sen. Anthony Hill (D). Hill resigned so that he could take a job with Mayor of Jacksonville Alvin Brown.

The Sept. 20 primary included candidates Ramon Day, Terry L. Fields, Audrey Gibson, and Leandrew Mills III. Only democrats could vote in this election.

“Florida has a closed primary. So only registered democrats can vote in this primary,” said Vick Oakes, Supervisor of Elections.

Gibson has served in the Florida House Representative before this election. Gibson was the representative from District 15. Gibson received over 54% of the vote in the primary.

However, it was a low turnout.

“There are 9,200 eligible democrats who can vote,” Oakes said.

According to the Supervisor of Elections website, only 431 of the eligible democrats actually voted.

District One consists of Duval, St Johns, Flagler, Putnam and Volusia counties.

Each candidate had their own unique qualifications for the position of state senator.

Day, who had 11% of the vote, has been the Chief of Staff for late U.S. Representative Charles E. Bennett, a teacher, and has held management positions for banks, mortgage lenders and real estate companies.

Fields, who had 32% of the vote, is also currently serves in the Florida House of Representatives and has been since he was elected in 2000.

Mills, who received 1% of the vote, currently has a position with a family business, Available Pest Control, in Jacksonville.

More information can be found at about the election results.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Be the first to comment on "Gibson wins primary, becomes District One state senator"

Leave a comment